Between buying and selling houses and other types of property, the world of real estate can be very complex and there can be certain nuances that are unfamiliar for someone without a background in real estate. Any purchase made will be one of the most important purchases in your life, and you do not want to jeopardize it by making a uniformed decision.
Working with a real estate agent can be a good idea, but if something goes sour, the agent might not have your best interests in mind and may leave you to deal with the disaster. Between purchasing and selling a home, purchasing or selling commercial properties, leasing, loan closing, and other real estate actions, you may be overwhelmed by all the important questions that you have not even thought of asking yet.
Investing in an attorney to help ease the difficulty of the real estate world is not only an investment in your sanity, but also an investment in the house of your dreams. Whether making a purchase for a home or looking to find a commercial space, hiring qualified legal support to help you with your transaction is one of the smartest decisions you can make. Be careful not to hire just anyone though; only a skilled attorney with a background in real estate can provide you the assistance you need to successfully complete your purchase.
Fortunately, Mark A. Schneider is here to help you with all your real estate needs. Not only is he a former licensed New Jersey real estate agent, he was also a licensed mortgage banker before taking that knowledge and starting his career as an attorney. With his comprehensive experience, he has the ability to help protect your real estate agreement, whether private or commercial, to ensure a successful and complete transaction. Protect yourself before the property of your dreams becomes the property of your nightmares; call Mark A. Schneider today at (609) 242-9337.
Having marketable skills in construction and home improvement know-how can lead to a very good job as a homebuilder, but there can be some serious implications if you fail to register with the New Home Warranty Program in New Jersey. Without this registration, or conducting business with an expired registration, can lead to fines up to $2,000. It can be difficult to handle the legal aspects of your homebuilding career when you are working hard to create your customers’ dream homes. Staying on top of your registration and the different requirements you must follow for each separate project is very important to keep your career on track and your company from facing a fourth degree crime.
From keeping up-to-date on your registration to issuing a 10-year limited warranty to the homeowners, you have many things to do in addition to providing your customers with the actual work. A 10-year limited warranty must be written that outlines specifically what the builder takes responsibility for if there are any faults, defects, and issues. This warranty must be presented to the customer at the closing transaction. They need proof of the warranty to show to the town’s construction official in order to receive a Certificate of Occupancy.
As a new homebuilder, you have additional responsibilities. Sometimes it can become overwhelming and you may slip up and forget something. Contact attorney Mark A. Schneider if you are in need of expert legal guidance, especially in drawing up a contract or warranty. As licensed new home builder himself, he has experience you need to assist you with the finer details of your required paperwork to ensure that nothing is left out. Call today at (609) 242-9337
A freedom enjoyed by so many over the age of 17: driving. There’s nothing like driving down the parkway heading to the shore or up to the city; that is until a police officer stops you. Maybe you were going a little over the speed limit, but you pull over and prepare yourself for the inevitable “license and registration please”. You hand over your driver’s license, your registration, and proof of insurance, expecting to hear the reason for being stopped. Suddenly, the officer tells you that your license is currently suspended.
This is a scary situation that people rarely expect to be in; usually if your license is suspended you would know why, especially for a DWI or too many points. If neither of those apply to you, you may be completely confounded as to how your license could be suspended. There could be a simple mistake such as a paper misplacement, a change of address, or the payment of a late fine that could have caused the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) to suspend your license.
These simple mistakes however, are not so simple to excuse you from driving with a suspended license. Many times, they will still try to hold you responsible for the mistake, and the penalty could be severe. First time offense of driving with a suspended license is a $500 fine and you could lose your license up to six months.
Do not let a simple mistake ruin your good driving record. If you are facing a driving with a suspended license charge, call Mark A. Schneider today. He is an experienced attorney with only one goal in mind: to get you the justice you deserve. Call today at (609) 242-9337.
Hiring a contractor to do a job for your home can be quite daunting, especially when you hire one you do not know. Thankfully New Jersey has some of the nation’s strongest consumer protection laws to safeguard homeowners: the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act and the New Jersey Home Improvement Act. Both require contractors and builders to annually register with the state Division of Consumer Affairs. Without registering, they will not be issued municipal construction permits, meaning that they not able to conduct business. Without this permit, contractors and builders are considered not capable to perform any improvements.
Before hiring a contractor or builder for your home projects, make sure they have this permit. This will help ensure the person you enlist is someone that has made the effort to be registered and received the proper permits. These requirements are not necessarily well known, and if this is your first time retaining someone to do work, you might not even know whether they are registered and permitted to do the work you want them to do. Thankfully, because of the strict consumer protection laws in the state, you are protected from a number of contractor or builder’s violations.
Even if your chosen workmen are registered and have the proper permits, there is still room for potential disputes. Constructing a contract between you and your builder can be very difficult, especially if you are not sure about what should be realistically manageable, acceptable, or if the contractor is over estimating. Seeking the assistance of an attorney experienced in creating contracts specifically for homeowners and contractors can help make the process easier. It would also be helpful in the event there is a problem during the completion of the project. Mark A. Schneider has experience as a new homebuilder, a real estate agent, and an attorney specializing in contracts between homeowners and contractors. Protect yourself and your home; call today at (609) 242-9337.
Shoplifting may sound like a simple child’s crime, but in fact it holds very severe consequences. New Jersey has some of the strictest laws regarding this offense; while other states may only penalize with fines, offenders in the garden state face potential jail time. Maybe your actual intention was to shoplift, but maybe it was a simple honest mistake.
Whatever the reason, you may be subject to very complicated consequences after the initial charge. A court date requiring you to appear for your trial is only the beginning. You may think pleading guilty might be the easiest way to end the problem, but that’s not true. A conviction for shoplifting is a very serious matter, especially in New Jersey. The state imposes harsh punishments for those caught committing the crime.
The charges vary according to the value of what it is you were caught stealing. If the value was under $200, the punishment can come with a maximum 6 months in jail. The offense becomes greater with the increase in value; shoplifting something between $200 to 500 is considered a felony and has a maximum 18-month jail sentence. In addition to these hefty fines, the merchant from whom you stole can file a civil lawsuit against you in order to gain restitution. If convicted, you may also face mandatory community service. A simple unfortunate decision to shoplift can come with consequences that can negatively affect your life.
Mark A. Schneider has the experience you need to fight against your shoplift charge and may be able to help you avoid the associated criminal charge. A conviction for shoplifting can ultimately affect your current and future employment opportunities. If you have been charged with this offense, call Mark A. Schneider today at (609) 242-9337.
In efforts to keep young passengers safer, New Jersey will enact a new law beginning September 1st, 2015. It is hard to imagine that any parent would have a problem with this law when the main goal is to protect children in motor vehicles. Crashes and accidents are not always avoidable, no matter how careful of a driver you are. Knowing that your child is safety secured in the event of an accident is unquestionably soothing. The added safety precautions and the requirements of this new legislation for age, weight, and height provide parents with a duty to insure the safety of their children.
This law will invoke stringent regulations for necessary safety seating for children who are passengers in all vehicles. The following are the new guidelines:
- Any child under two years of age weighing less than thirty pounds must be in a five-point harness, rear-facing child seat in the back seat of the vehicle
- Any child under four years of age weighing less than forty pounds must be in a five-point-harness child seat, either rear-facing or forward-facing in the back seat of the vehicle
- Any child under eight years of age and less than fifty-seven inches tall must be in a secured five-point harness forward-facing child seat or a booster seat in the back seat of the vehicle
- Children over the age of eight or more than fifty-seven inches tall are to be secured by a regular car seat belt in the back seat of the vehicle
These new regulations are not without exceptions, however. For cars with no back seat, the above must be followed for the front seat, but only if the airbag system can be disabled or turned off. If there is no way for the airbag to be turned off or disabled on the passenger side, the child is not to ride in that vehicle. If deployed, the airbag can pose a serious danger to a young child. School buses will also be exempt from this regulation.
Previous regulations came with a violation fine between $10 and $25, but with this new law the fine will increase to $50—$75.
Traffic violations may seem minor, but they can result in some serious consequences. Failing to obey laws can result in devastating consequences, especially if there is an accident. Something as little as looking down for an instant to check for a text can cause a severe crash. And you never know—one of the passengers in the other car is likely to include a child in a safety seat.
For any questions you might have about traffic laws and regulations, or if you are facing more serious charges as a result of a traffic violation, call attorney Mark A. Schneider. As a former municipal prosecutor, he has extensive knowledge in traffic court hearings and uses his experience to help you with your case. Call today for a free consultation at (609) 242-9337.