Driving While Suspended in New Jersey

Driving While Suspended in NJ

Driving While Suspended is a serious offense that carries harsh penalties. If you are facing this charge, it is important to seek the services of a qualified attorney to defend you. Mark A. Schneider is an experienced defense attorney who understands what the consequences of being convicted of driving while suspended can have on your life. Mark is committed to representing you in court and presenting a strong case to have the charges dropped or downgraded.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in NJ

The severity of the charges are determined by a combination of factors such as the number of times you have been previously convicted as well as the reason for having your license revoked. The most common penalties imposed if convicted for driving while suspended include the following:

Driving While Suspended
  • Imprisonment for a period of between 5 days to 18 months.
  • A first offense a $500 fine and loss of driving privileges for a period of up to 6 months. An additional surcharge of $250 annually for 3 years for driving while suspended.
  • A second offense a $750 fine, license suspension up to 6 months and a jail term of up to 5 days at the county jail.
  • A third offense attracts a penalty of $1,000, a license suspension up to 6 months as well as a 10-day imprisonment at the county jail.
  • An additional suspension of up to 2 years or increased jail term by 10 days for every violation after the third.
  • A 45-day mandatory jail sentence if you are involved in an accident during the suspension period resulting in injury to someone else other than yourself.
  • Revocation of your motor vehicle’s registration.
Driving While Suspended in NJ

If your license has been suspended as the result of a DUI, and you are charged with driving with suspended license, the charge will be brought about as an indictable criminal charge (NJSA 2C:40-26) rather than a municipal court offense. This exposes the offender to additional fines, an additional term of suspension and between a minimum of 180 days in jail without parole up to 18 months in jail.

Hiring Legal Counsel

Hiring legal counsel is a crucial step towards avoiding the harsh penalties. This is especially true when you take into consideration the fact that the penalties can affect your ability to be employed or even stay in school. Defense Attorney Mark A. Schneider has successfully handled more than 1,000 Driving While Suspended cases throughout New Jersey. Mark will offer you individual advice based on the strength of your case and its subsequent sentence. In most cases, this has resulted in charges being dropped, a not guilty verdict, or negotiating for imposing minimum penalties. 609-242-9337

Driving While Suspended

Minimize Your DWS Penalties by Calling Mark A. Schneider